images

On November 7, 2014, I turned 43 years old. I’ve had an amazing life up to this point with many more good days than bad days. God willing, I look forward to many more years of life, experiences and growth as a person. I have learned a lot in 43 years through my own experiences and by observing others. I want to share 43 Life Lessons I’ve learned in 43 years that have helped to shape the person I am today. I am on a journey to continue to grow and become my “best self” in mind, body and spirit before I leave this earth. I am by no means where I want to be but I like to think of myself as “perfectly imperfect” and will continue to strive everyday to become better.

43 Life Lessons I’ve learned in 43 years (in no particular order)

  1. Things always work out the way they are supposed to
  2. Sometimes, you just have to say “no”
  3. God answers prayer. He will send you what you need, just at the right time
  4. Keep people around you who are what you want to be
  5. Figure out what you can do and stop saying what you can’t do (limit your excuses!)
  6. Not everyone is your friend, or wants to be your friend
  7. Your family is very important
  8. If Momma ain’t happy, nobody is happy
  9. You can’t help anyone, if you’re not happy
  10. Never stop wanting to be better
  11. Appreciate what you have right now, or you’ll never be happy when you do have more
  12. You’ll never please everyone, so stop trying!
  13. Other people don’t think about you nearly as much as you think (or spend time worrying about)
  14. Never stop dreaming
  15. You can have what you want, if you are willing to do the work needed to get it
  16. Don’t live life in the future (i.e. when I get rich, when I lose weight, when I get a better job etc.)
  17. Figure out what you love to do, then figure out a way to get paid to do it
  18. You really can do ALL things through Christ
  19. If you believe it, you can achieve it
  20. Gratitude is vital
  21. You don’t have to be like everyone else
  22. You always have a choice
  23. It’s okay to be vulnerable
  24. No one is perfect. It’s okay to make mistakes
  25. Quiet time and stillness, is necessary
  26. It’s more important to work on your spiritual life and inner well-being than it is to work on your physical, outward appearance (you’ll never accept how you look on the outside, if you’re not content on the inside)
  27. Everything is not your problem
  28. Be nice to everyone
  29. Fake it til’ you make it! Act as if you already have something that you want, before you have it
  30. Take others opinions with a “grain of salt” because everyone lives their lives based on their own experiences
  31. Your life is a reflection of your thoughts. Thoughts create things
  32. You can’t help someone who isn’t ready and willing to receive help
  33. Always do your best
  34. Spend your time wisely
  35. Sometimes you have to let people and things go
  36. You can’t have a list of things you’re looking for (i.e. in a mate) and not be those things yourself
  37. Do not settle for less than you’re worth
  38. If you say you’re going to do something, do it. If you’re not going to do it, don’t say it
  39. You will never find what you’re looking for outside of yourself. The answer is inside of you
  40. Silence is golden and it’s okay to be seen and not heard sometimes
  41. Worrying doesn’t make things better
  42. You can have it all but not necessarily all at the same time
  43. Life is 10% of what happens to you and 90% how you react to it
